New App: Out of Milk

Have you ever stood there at the grocery store with something in your hand, wondering if you already had it at home? Then, since you couldn’t remember, you threw it in the cart. When you got home, lo, there are three more of them? No? It’s just me then. Sure it is. 😉

Regardless of how many of us this really happens to, I got an app on my phone that has solved that problem: Out of Milk. This app has three functions, a shopping list, a to-do creator, and a pantry log. That’s right, you can log all the food, cleaning supplies, etc you have in the house. This function has already saved me money twice!

I can hear some of you now. “Who wants to sit there typing in everything in my kitchen and under my sink by hand?” None of us, that’s why OOM has a barcode function that allows you to scan the box/bag/can the item comes in and log it that way. Now, the scanner does have some issues. It takes a few seconds, sometimes longer, for it to catch the barcode. It doesn’t have every item available in it’s system, but it has far more than I thought it would. The cool thing is that the app can learn. If it doesn’t have it, you type it in. From then on,  OOM captures that item.

One of the funniest things its done so far is catalog Agave Nectar as “plant spit”. Yummy.

What I love about Out Of Milk:

It lets me keep track of everything in our house. No more buying repeated products just to be sure I have some.

It’s fun to play with. I’m actually starting to annoy the Almost Wife. “Wait! You can’t eat that/put it away/cook with it yet! I haven’t logged it in!” I made her lift up her pretzels the other night so I could get to the barcode. Major side eye. Hey, just trying to run an efficient household here!

You get to name the lists whatever you want. The only list it comes with is a spice list. So, how you organize your products is up to you. I realized this weekend I have to redo it by location instead of type of food. Certain things are already lost somewhere, miscategorized because I was in a hurry.

They have a lot more organic/vegan items and groceries from Whole Foods in their database than I thought they would.

What I’m not so sure about:

The amount of time it can take to get a barcode to scan. I have found you can improve the chances by holding the item under close light. I use the stove light. It also helps to brace yourself on the countertop or something else solid to keep the item and phone from shaking.

It doesn’t seem to have many Kroger brand items in the database at all. That’s QFC’s store brand. I buy those a lot to save money, which means more time typing things in.

I was going to say that I don’t like not being able to note that I’m out of things in the pantry and put them on the shopping list. However, I just found their website and looked through the tutorial. You can move things from the pantry list to the shooping list by doing the following:

opening a list, pressing the item in question, and then moving it to the shopping list.

Happy day!!! 🙂

For more information about the app, here’s their website: http://www.outofmilkapp.com/static/index.html

The app can be downloaded from the Android marketplace. Happy shopping!

