Is It Time to Move Our Money

I read this article today about banks starting to charge $3/month fees for using your debit cards. It’s not all banks, and not all states (yet). But it is Wells Fargo (where I bank) and it is Washington State (where I live). I wasn’t too sure what to do about it. After all, I started up with WF because they have branches everywhere I have people, including rural Michigan. A lot of folks have been saying that it’s time to move our money to credit unions and local banks, but I didn’t think would work for me.

And then I saw that Salal Credit Union is part of a nationwide network of Credit Union ATMs. Apparently, a lot of them have agreements with each other to honor transactions. Including one in rural Michigan. Where I have people. And where I was a member growing up. So now I’m thinking about it.

One of the organizations working on this back to the credit unions and local banks/divorce the giant corporations movement put up this video on YouTube:

<object width=”480″ height=”390″><param name=”movie” value=”http://www.youtube.com/v/Icqrx0OimSs?version=3&amp;hl=en_US&amp;rel=0″></param><param name=”allowFullScreen” value=”true”></param><param name=”allowscriptaccess” value=”always”></param></object>

Do you think it’s time to move our money?

One thought on “Is It Time to Move Our Money

  1. Pingback: BECU is the Best Bank | John F Howes CPA

Comments are closed.